Sold Out

Around the World in 80 Trees

Jonathan Drori In Conversation with Karen Viggers

Sunday 26 August 2018
9.30AM – 10.30AM
House of Representatives Chamber
Museum of Australian Democracy

In this ode to the tree, Jonathan Drori takes us on a fact-filled global trek to illuminate how these treasurers of nature play a role in every part of human life. With each chapter of Around the World in 80 Trees explaining a different tree, you’ll be educated and entertained by Drori, who will be in conversation with local author Karen Viggers.

Jonathan Drori is a trustee of The Eden Project, Fellow of The Linnean Society and a frequent public-speaker on science and environment, with several TED talks online about seeds, pollen and the sex-life of flowers. Jon previously spent nine years on the boards of The Woodland Trust and The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. He was editorial director of BBC Online and before that a documentary film-maker and executive producer of BBC science programmes. Jon is Visiting Industrial Professor at Bristol University specialising in science misconceptions and Chair of Ravensbourne University London, which focuses on creativity and technology.
T: @jondrori I: jondroriuk F: jondroriauthor

Karen Viggers is the award-winning author of three internationally best-selling novels: The Stranding, The Lightkeeper’s Wife and The Grass Castle. Her fourth novel, The World Beneath the Trees will be published by in 2019. Karen is a wildlife veterinarian with a PhD in wildlife health, and she writes contemporary fiction set in Australian landscapes. Her work has been translated into several languages. In 2016, The Lightkeeper’s Wife/La Mémoire des embruns won the Les Petits Mots des libraires literary award in France for a discovery novel (Roman Decouverte) and was short-listed for the Livre de poche Reader’s Choice Award. This novel was on the French national best-seller list for 42 weeks and was a No 1 bestseller on Amazon. In 2017, The Grass Castle/Le Murmure du vent was short-listed for the Pays du Galle Reader’s Prize.